Monday, December 8, 2014

40th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards, The (2006) TV Special

LAS VEGAS, May 17 /PRNewswire/ -- Winners have been announced for the 40TH ANNUAL ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS.  Honorees received their awards during a star-studded ceremony broadcast LIVE on the CBS Television Network from the Mandalay Bay Resort & Casino in Las Vegas. This evening Kenny Chesney won Entertainer of the Year, Keith Urban won Top Male Vocalist, Gretchen Wilson won both Top New Artist and Top Female Vocalist, Garth Brooks accepted the Pioneer Award on behalf of the late Chris LeDoux and Neal McCoy won the Academy of Country Music / Home Depot Humanitarian Award.

Since he has won ACADEMY OF COUNTRY MUSIC AWARDS for Top New Vocalist, Top Male Vocalist, and now Entertainer of the Year, Kenny Chesney has earned the Academy of Country Music's Triple Crown, which salutes artists that have won in all three of those categories.  He is one of only six artists to have earned this honor in the Academy's history. The Previous Triple Crown winners are Brooks & Dunn, Dixie Chicks, Mickey Gilley, Merle Haggard and Barbara Mandrell.

The 40th Annual Academy of Country Music Awards (2006) TV Special
Host: Phil McGraw, Robin McGraw

No comments:

Post a Comment